## MINUTES OF THE 2023 ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CATHOLIC LAWYERS GUILD OF CHICAGO

## Wednesday, May 3, 2023

- 1. **Introduction.** The Annual Meeting of the Catholic Lawyers Guild of Chicago (the "Guild") was held on Wednesday, May 3, 2023 at Jenner & Block commencing at approximately 5:00 p.m. A quorum of members being present, the President of the Guild, T. Nicholas Tyszka, called the meeting to order.
- 2. **Invocation.** Deacon Dan Welter delivered the invocation.
- 3. <u>Minutes.</u> Upon motion duly seconded, the Minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting were approved as submitted.
- 4. **<u>Treasurer's Report.</u>** The Treasurer of the Guild, Kevin Kelley, presented a brief report on the Guild's finances.
- 5. <u>Election of New Board Members.</u> The President introduced Dan Murray to present the report of the Nominating Committee. Mr. Murray reported that the Nominating Committee proposed the following twenty-two (22) candidates to fill vacancies on the Board of Governors by reason of expiration of terms or retirement from the Board.

For a term expiring in 2024: Joseph T. Murphy

For a term expiring in 2025: Hon. Edward Washington II, (Ret.)

For terms expiring in 2026:

Jennifer M. Cascio Justice Joy V. Cunningham James J. Convery John G. Fogarty, Jr. Lynn Grayson Maureen Hanlon Laura Jacksack Alex Kasparie Patrick Keenan-Devlin Hon. Virginia Kendall Thaddeus J. Makarewicz Jill O'Brien Robert Oleszkiewicz Jay Reyes Sr. Catherine M. Ryan, O.S.F. Hon. Regina Scannicchio R. Matthew Simon Very Rev. Daniel A. Smilanic Hon. Patricia S. Spratt Tanya D. Woods

On Motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the foregoing individuals to terms on the Board of Governors was unanimously approved.

6. **Election of Officers.** The President again recognized Dan Murray. Mr. Murray reported that, with respect to the offices of Second Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, the Nominating Committee proposed the following candidates for election as officers of the Guild for the ensuing year:

Second Vice President: Kevin Kelley Secretary: Megan McGrath Treasurer: Michael Ripani

On motion of Mr. Murray, duly seconded, the Motion to elect the officers proposed by the Nominating Committee was unanimously approved.

The President also noted that, pursuant to Article VII, Section 2 of our Bylaws, the President automatically assumes the office of Immediate Past President; our current Second Vice President, Pam Rubeo, advances to First Vice President; and our current First Vice President, James B. Murray, Jr., becomes president.

- 7. **Oaths of Office.** Mary Jane Theis, Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court, administered the oath of office to the incoming President and Officers of the Guild. Timothy Evans, Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County, administered the oaths of office to the new members of the Board of Governors.
- 8. **<u>Remarks by Outgoing President.</u>** Outgoing President T. Nicholas Tyszka gave remarks summarizing his term in office, thanking all who assisted him during the year, and welcoming the new officers and incoming President.
- 9. **Presentation of Gift to Outgoing President.** Incoming President James B. Murray, Jr. then presented a gift to the Outgoing President T. Nicholas Tyszka.
- 10. **Remarks by Incoming President.** Incoming President James B. Murray, Jr. made remarks summarizing his objectives for the forthcoming year.
- 11. **Benediction.** Father Bob Cook delivered the closing benediction.
- 12. <u>Adjournment.</u> The formal business of the Meeting having been concluded, upon Motion to Adjourn duly seconded, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 5:45 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

<u>/s/ Megan McGrath</u> Megan McGrath Secretary